Ronald Reagan Division Unit History

Ronald Reagan Division of the United States Naval Sea Cadet Corps was conceived and formed by LCDR Ernest S. Cowell as there was no Sea Cadet unit in Los Angeles proper.  The Division was born to fill that void.  In concert with President Ronald W. Reagan, whom LCDR Cowell had worked with and for, and to honor the President, the Unit was built and on 30 May 1996 as PCU Ronald Reagan Division it took it’s place in the Naval Sea Cadet Corps.

The pre-commissioning inspection was held in October 1996 and Ronald Reagan Division was commissioned on 13 May 1997, Warrant # 11-49-367, at the 311th Command Support of the United States Army Reserve.  The Training Ship Ronald Reagan was subsequently formed on 1 July 2003
The Division has occupied the facilities from 1996 through the present.

The Army Reserve entity has been renamed and reformed as the 311th Support Command (Expeditionary) of the United States Army Reserve.

Starting with a 10′ x 10′ office, the Division today enjoys two rooms plus an 1,200 sq ft Supply Room and full support of the 311th. Sponsors and supporters of the Ronald Reagan Division are Branch 85 of the Fleet Reserve Association, and Palisades Post 283 of the American Legion as well as some individuals, and the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps of the UCLA/USC consortium, and other Naval entities.  Without their generousity the Unit could not possibly exsist, much less function.

Current Command:
Commanding Officer – LTjg Sandra Thomas
Executive Officer – LCDR Pamela Silver
Training Officer – Instructor Armando Lopez
Communication Director & Asst.Training Officer – Instructor S.Rotenberg
Supply Officer - Instructor Clara Diaz
Personnel Officer & Asst. Supply Officer – Instructor Cecilia Lopez
Operation officer - Instructor Monica Serrano-Jauregui
Medical Officer – Mike Martini M.D.
webmaster - Neal St. Clair idesignbusiness, inc.

Commanding offiers have included:
LCDR Ernest S. Cowell
LT Elizabeth E. Ulloa
LTjg Irma Macias
In addition to the outstanding leadership of its Commanding Officers, Ronald Reagan Division has benefited from the service of its Chief Petty Officers and 1st Class Petty

CPO Kirk Williams, NSCC
CPO Mauricio Febres, NSCC
PO1 Gregory Agron, NSCC
PO1 Caroly R. Bystrom, NSCC